top of page

The Five Reiki Principles (Gokai)

Kyo dakewa 
Ikaru na 
Shinpai suna 
Kansha shite 
Gyo o hagame 
Hito ni shinsetsu ni 
Just for Today
Do Not be Angry
Do Not Worry
Be Grateful
Do your Duties
Be Kind to Others

The five Reiki principles are a major and fundamental part of Reiki practice and Reiki Training.

At Reiki Tradition we believe every Reiki student and or Practitioner should have full knowledge and understanding of the 5 Reiki Principles and the Gokai. The five Reiki Principles were originally created by the founder of Reiki Sensei Mikao Usui to help improve our lives. All Reiki Tradition students are taught to chant the Gokai in Japanese as part of their daily life's and routine once in the morning and once in the evening. The Gokai is also for anyone who wishes to bring happiness, health, and prosperity into their life. 


An explanation on how the Gokai Five Reiki Principles Work:

In Traditional Japanese life, they believe that mystical powers dwell in and around words. This concept and idea is simply called ” Kototama”. “Koto (言)” means “word” and “tama (靈)” means “soul, spirit”. The words we say have a significant power, vibration and frequency attached to them. So, day by day, we seed those words of Gokai into our everyday life and it can influence our environment, body, mind, and soul to blossom and bloom. When we chant aloud the Gokai, the energy of the words manifests in the world. This idea comes from Shintoism, which had a significant influence on traditional Japanese Reiki, being the endemic spirituality of Japan before Buddhism arrived. 


bottom of page